Showing posts with label Forecasting. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Forecasting. Show all posts

Friday, June 26, 2009

An unfortunate circumstance of the times.

Recent economic pressures have forced companies into layoffs.

Not supprisingly, some of those layoffs have resulted in Projector Owners being let go. If you have immediately Disabled or Deleted those Users, and they were the Project Owner of already created Projects, a potential issue exists.

A deleted Internal Project Owner does not display in the Drop Down for Create a Project. See my recent June 25 rant, All Disabled Users are NOT the same.

That seems all well and good until you attempt to Edit a Project from the top blue bar, Project Information on the Project's Project Summary screen.

When you open the Edit function your Project Owner, if Disabled, will disappear and you won't find them in the Drop Down. Worse yet, the screen won't let you exit without a selected User. Bummer!

Work around:

Instead of Disabling the User immediately, simply change the password and email, on their User Summary screen. They will still appear in the Drop Down when you Edit and after a period of time, when all of their projects have moved through the pipeline, Disable or Delete them.
TIP: Place an "X" in front of their name, indicting DO NOT SELECT as an Owner for new Projects.

OR

Use Edit Projected Spend where you can manage the Status and Projected Spend for a Project.

Both of the above are likely reasons for why you are editing a Project's information from the Project Information blue bar. These edits can be done more easily from the Edit Projected Spend screen as it will give you faster access to these two fields, especially when you are updating multiple Projects. The navigation is simply faster, than going to each Project's Project Summary screen. One Project at a time.

When you arrive on the Edit Projected Spend screen it is defaulted to the current year, beginning January 1 and ending December 31. If the Project you your wish to edit is not displayed use the provided Pop Ups to adjust your date ranges.

There is an interface like the one on the left for both Start and End Date.
You can adjust either or both settings and then click the GO button.

We will work on a solution to this problem, but in the mean time I hope you find these insights useful.





Thursday, June 18, 2009

Forecasting... Now you have a choice.

Making life easier for the Owner who still sells.

Fact: Some owners have customer accounts.
Fact: Some AEs require help completing their forecasts.

In response to these two truths we have supplemented our original Forecast Editing Tools. A User can hold one or both of these tools.


Edit My Forecast: Displays only those Projects for which the User is the Primary Contact for the Customer User associated with the Project as External Project Owner One.

Edit Sales Forecasts: Displays any Project where the User is a member of a Group for the External Company associated to the Project.

Bottom line: Edit My Forecast is intended for the individual AE, whereas the Edit Sales Forecasts will allow management or administrative support help the AE manage their Forecasts.